Lion Brothers Building
Our first owner-developer project, the Lion Brothers Building laid the framework for a classic Cross Street project – a funky, unique gem of adaptive reuse with an equally layered community development mission.
Development
Cross Street Partners, Atapco Properties
General Contractor
Cross Street Partners
Design
Quinn Evans, Foundry Architects, Kovas Whitney & Assoc., Skarda & Assoc., STV Inc.
Financing
Reinvestment Fund, City First Bank, State of Maryland, Southwest Partnership
A Legacy of Production
Listed on the U.S. Register of Historic Places, what is now The Lion Brothers Building was built in 1886 as a livery stable. It became associated with one of Baltimore’s oldest continually operating businesses, the Lion Brothers Company, after the company relocated to the building following the 1904 Baltimore Fire. The Lion Brothers Company manufactured embroidered emblems in the building until the late 1950s, and later the Globe Screen Printers called it home until their factory closed in the early 2000s.
Funders, Founders, and Food
One of the first major investments in the University of Maryland – BioPark, the redevelopment of the landmark Lion Brothers Building brought new life and investment to West Baltimore’s Hollins Market community. The three-story building, with its rich manufacturing history, now serves as a mixed-use center for Baltimore’s growing companies, institutions, and a local W/MBE café and production kitchen.
The project is anchored by Enterprise Homes, Inc., of affordable and workforce communities; Building Envelope Consultants & Scientists, the University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC) Intermedia and Digital Arts graduate program; and the family-owned Neopol Savory Smokery production kitchen and community café.